There are more than 50 Congressional Committees and Subcommittees of the House and Senate with jurisdiction over ocean research and policy. These committees oversee the various federal agencies whose missions include ocean science and policy.

House Appropriations Committee
Chairman: Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
Ranking Member: Nita Lowey (NY-17)

Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies (NOAA, NSF, NASA)
Defense (ONR, DARPA)
Energy and Water Development (DOE)
Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies (USGS, BOEM, EPA)


House Energy and Commerce Committee
Chairman: Greg Walden (OR-2)
Ranking Member: Frank Pallone (NJ-6)

Energy and Air Quality (DOE)
Environment and Hazardous Materials (EPA, NOAA)
Oversight and Investigations (EPA, DOE, NOAA)

  • Energy
  • Chairman: Fred Upton (MI-6)
  • Ranking Member: Bobby Rush (IL-1)
  • Environment
  • Chairman: John Shimkus (IL-15)
  • Ranking Member: Paul Tonko (NY- 20)


House Natural Resources Committee
Chairman: Robert “Rob” Bishop (UT-1)
Ranking Member: Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-3)

Energy and Mineral Resources (USGS, MMS)
Fisheries, Wildlife, and Oceans (NOAA)


House Science, Space, & Technology Committee
Chairman: Lamar Smith (TX-21)
Ranking Member: Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)

Energy (DOE)
Space (NASA)
Research and Technology (OSTP, NSF, NIST)
Environment (EPA, NASA, NOAA)


House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Chairman: Bill Shuster (PA-9)
Ranking Member: Peter A. “Pete” DeFazio (OR-4)

Coast Guard and Marine Transportation (Coast Guard)
Water Resources and Environment (EPA, Army Corps of Engineers, NOAA)


Senate Appropriations Committee
Chairman: Thad Cochran (MS)
Ranking Member: Patrick Leahy (VT)

Commerce, Justice, and Science (NOAA, NSF, NASA)
State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs (State Department)
Defense (ONR, DARPA)
Energy and Water Development (DOE)
Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies (USGS, MMS, EPA, CEQ)


Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee
Chairman: John Thune (SD)
Ranking Member: Bill Nelson (FL)

Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries, and Coast Guard (NOAA, Coast Guard)
Communications, Technology, and the Internet (FCC, CPB, DOC: NTIA)
Science and Space (NSF, NASA, OSTP)
Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety, and Security


Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee
Chairwoman: Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Ranking Member: Maria Cantwell (WA)

Energy (DOE)
Public Lands, Forests, and Mining
Water and Power


Senate Environment and Public Works Committee
Chairman: John Barrasso (WY)
Ranking Member: Tom Carper (DE)

Green Jobs and the New Economy
Clean Air and Nuclear Safety
Superfund, Toxics, and Environmental Health
Water and Wildlife
Transportation and Infrastructure